A Level


The A Level (Advanced Level) is a subject-based qualification conferred as part of the General Certificate of Education (GCE Advanced Level), as well as a school leaving qualification. It covers specific level subjects offered by the educational bodies in the United Kingdom and the educational authorities of the British Crown. However, it depends if the students are completing secondary or pre-university education. Procurement of a level or a similar qualification is required conventionally for university entrance. It is usually a mandate with the universities according to conditional offers on the basis of the grades achieved.

Key Stage 5 Curriculum History

With the introduction of the Education Reform Act in the year 1988, the legislation of the five key Stage curriculums was initially applicable for both England and Wales. It was later that Welsh adopted an autonomous approach towards educational services and departed from the prime legislation. In 2014 the present form of the National Curriculum of ks1 till 5 was applied to all primary and secondary schools in the UK, with a few modifications made in 2015. Under the present curriculum, the Key Stage 5 identifies with students between the age group of 16 and 18.

The Objective of Study

The A level subjects incorporated at the advanced level are made strategically a part of the A level curriculum in a way which could provide a conducive ground for bracing students for university-level education. A prudent concoction of A level Maths, A level Chemistry, A level Physics, A level Biology and certain other subjects assure for academic excellence at the GCE advanced level. Normally, students take between 3 and 5 A Level in their first year of the sixth form and most cut back to 3 in their second year.

Instructions for Students

The guidelines for instructions imparted at the advanced level supposedly involve certain distinct features of the stage and the different subjects which get offered to the students. Some of these key features of the A level are:

  • A Level has no specific subject requirements, so students have the opportunity to combine any subjects they wish to take at the GCE advanced level. However, students normally pick their courses based on the degree they wish to pursue at the university. Most degrees require specific A Level for entry, such as A Level Maths for a Mathematics degree.
  • A Level generally works towards over two years.
  • Certain other crucial changes were also introduced for the A level examination. For instance, new style linear A Levels are getting introduced in England as part of the government’s educational reforms (initially across 13 subjects), replacing older modular courses where exams could be taken at several points during the course. Instead, reformed A Level is now taken at the end of the course as a set of terminal exams and is no longer separated into units.
  • There is less emphasis on coursework, and students must take retake all exams if they wish to work again for the qualification.

Subjects offered (A level subjects):

  • Accounting, Afrikaans, Ancient History, Anthropology, Applied Art and Design, Applied Business, Applied ICT, Applied Science, Arabic, Archaeology, Art and Design
  • Bengali, Biblical Hebrew, Biology, Business, Business Studies
  • Chemistry, Chinese, Citizenship Studies, Classical Civilization, Classical Greek, Classical Studies, Communication and Culture, Computer Science, Computing, Creative Writing, Critical Thinking
  • Dance, Design and Technology, Design and Textiles, Digital Media and Design, Digital Technology, Divinity, Drama, Drama and Theatre, Dutch
  • Economics, Economics and Business, Electronics, Engineering, English Language, English Language and Literature, English Literature, Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Environmental Technology
  • Fashion and Textiles, Film Studies, Food Studies, Food Technology, French, Further Mathematics
  • General Studies, Geography, Geology, German, Global Development, Global Perspectives and Research, Government and Politics, Greek, Gujarati
  • Health and Social Care, Hindi, Hinduism, History, History of Art, Home Economics, Human Biology, Humanities
  • ICT, Information Technology, Irish, Islamic Studies, Italian
  • Japanese, Journalism
  • Marine Science, Mathematics, Media Studies, Modern Hebrew, Modern Languages, Moving Image Arts, Music, Music Technology
  • Nutrition and Food Science
  • Panjabi, Performance Studies, Performing Arts, Persian, Philosophy, Photography, Physical Education, Physical Science, Physics, Polish, Politics, Portuguese, Product Design, Professional Business Services, Psychology, Pure Mathematics
  • Quantitative methods
  • Religious Studies, Russian
  • Science in Society, Sociology, Software Systems Development, Spanish, Sports Science, Statistics, Systems and Control Technology
  • Tamil, Technology and Design, Thinking Skills, Travel and Tourism, Turkish
  • Urdu
  • Welsh, World Development

AS Level

The AS level is an abbreviation that can stand for:

  • Advanced Subsidiary level, an independent qualification encompassing the first year of an A Level qualification’s content (previously was part of an A Level)
  • Advanced Supplementary level, an old qualification which was part of the UK Advanced level system prior to 2000

Target group

The Key Stage 5 is the succeeding stage to Key Stage 4 and is inclusive of the three years of school teaching as followed in the primary and secondary schools of England. This corresponds to years 12 and 13, with the age of the pupils being 17 and 18.


The results obtained at the A level is quite crucial in terms of acting as the gateway to most universities and colleges. Within the British curriculum, if a child seeks to enroll himself or herself in a university in the Year 13, they are generally provided with a conditional offer. This offer guarantees the admission provided to the students to acquire certain A level grades.